PIP Guidelines After an Accident
Florida accident attorneys specialize in handling PIP claims
Florida requires that all motorists purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, which provides coverage for their emergency medical care if they suffer injury in a car accident. Between Florida’s “no-fault” insurance policies, and its “pure comparative negligence” laws, filing an insurance claim in the Sunshine State can be quite challenging. The accident attorneys at Florida’s Ged Lawyers, LLP specialize in handling PIP claims, with a demonstrated track record of successfully recovering millions of dollars in PIP benefits for their clients.
PIP is “no-fault” insurance
The Personal Injury Protection (PIP) requirement, which was adopted in Florida in 1971, is often referred to as “no-fault” insurance because it does not require proving fault in order to receive PIP insurance benefits.
What does PIP cover?
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance provides coverage for medical bills and other damages if you have been injured in a car accident. For the most part, PIP insurance policies cover the driver, passengers, and any pedestrians that are involved in the car accident. Florida law requires that every driver have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage of $10,000. Florida’s “no-fault” insurance system does not provide coverage for vehicle damage or non-monetary damages, such as pain and suffering.
Filing a PIP claim after a car accident
If you have been involved in a car accident and sustained non-serious injuries, the first step is to file a claim with your insurance company under your PIP insurance coverage. If you sustained more serious or permanent injury in the accident, you may then file a claim for damages with the other drivers’ insurance company. Claims may be brought against the at-fault driver’s insurance for property damage claims and you may also file a lawsuit against the other driver, if necessary.
Florida is a “pure comparative negligence” state
Florida is a “pure comparative negligence” state. What does this mean? If your lawsuit goes to trial, and it is determined that you share some responsibility for the accident, then your award will be reduced by the percentage of your liability for the accident. So, if you sustained $5,000 of damages in the car accident but you are 20% responsible for the accident, then your award will be reduced by 20% — down to $4,000.
Have questions about Florida’s PIP requirement and what to do after an accident? Give us a call
Florida’s car insurance laws are complicated, and the claims process can be overwhelming and confusing. Let us help. At Ged Lawyers, LLP, our accident attorneys specialize in handling PIP claims. We understand the intricacies of Florida’s PIP laws and have successfully recovered millions of dollars in PIP benefits for our clients. Our team is available to answer your questions, discuss your case, and advocate on your behalf. Schedule a confidential consultation with a member of our team by contacting our office at 844-443-3529 or online.