Florida’s 14-day accident law generally requires you to seek medical attention no more than 14 days after a motor vehicle accident. If you don’t get medical care within 14 days, then you may not be able to get insurance compensation for injury-related expenses and losses.
How Florida’s 14-Day Accident Law May Affect You
If you’ve suffered injuries in a motor vehicle accident, you may want financial coverage for your losses. Some of that coverage may come from Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance.
If an insurance company or court determines that you’ve not honored the 14-day accident law, you may not be able to collect your PIP insurance coverage. There may be exceptions to this 14-day accident law. Therefore, you should contact our firm even if you failed to get medical treatment within 14 days of your collision.
What does PIP Insurance in Florida Cover?
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) explains that every motorist in Florida must have PIP insurance. It also explains that PIP insurance:
- Can cover 80% of accident-related medical expenses
- Generally covers up to $10,000 in medical expenses
If you have higher PIP coverage limits, you may be entitled to more than $10,000 in medical treatment. Such treatment may include:
- Ambulance transport from your accident scene
- Treatment in an emergency room
- Dental care for accident-related tooth damage
- Chiropractic care
- Rehabilitation expenses
- Other forms of medical care you receive after your accident
Florida is a no-fault insurance state. This means that, even if you’re at fault for your accident, you can generally receive PIP insurance coverage.
Our team will create a full record of your medical care, as well as any other losses from your accident. We’ll determine if you’re eligible for coverage through PIP insurance, or if another legal strategy is appropriate.
Why Florida Implements the 14-Day Accident Law
While you may not have to file your insurance claim immediately after your accident, Florida requires you to get medical care almost immediately after the accident. The state likely implemented this 14-day window to ensure that all accident-related medical claims are legitimate.
Our team can help you get any medical attention that you still require. It is in your best interest to get medical treatment as soon as possible because:
- You want to abide by Florida’s 14-day accident law, if possible.
- You may have injuries that you’ve yet to receive a diagnosis or treatment for.
- You may not have a clear timetable for recovery, which will be important to your insurance claim or lawsuit.
By proving that your accident caused your injuries, you may have a strong foundation for negotiating a settlement.
What If I Failed to Get Medical Treatment within 14 Days of My Accident?
You may still have legal options if you failed to get medical treatment after your accident. While you may not be able to get coverage through your PIP insurance, you may be able to pursue a lawsuit.
A personal injury lawyer serving Florida can explain your options. Each motor vehicle accident case is unique, so a personalized review of your case may be helpful.
For a free legal consultation, call (561) 995-1966
How a Personal Injury Lawyer Can Assist You After an Accident in Florida
Our personal injury lawyers have helped many accident victims get justice. This includes:
- Car accident victims
- Truck accident victims
- Motorcycle accident victims
- Bicycle accident victims
- Scooter accident victims
If you’ve been in an accident, we can help. We can manage the claims or legal process for you, allowing you to focus on recovery. Our team serving Florida can:
- Review your insurance policies: Though certain coverages in Florida are mandatory, each auto insurance policy is unique. We’ll study the details of your applicable policies, identifying every coverage that you’re entitled to.
- Document your losses: Insurance companies may argue that your losses aren’t accident-related or aren’t as severe as you say. We’ll document your losses with medical records, photographs, invoices, and any other available documentation. Clear records may convince the insurance company to cover your losses.
- Negotiate with insurance companies: Whether we seek coverage through your own insurance company or another party’s, we’ll negotiate as if your claim were our own.
- Take any other necessary action to seek coverage for your losses: We generally have legal options beyond the claims process. If we need to take further action, like filing a lawsuit, we can.
Our team has a long record of financial recoveries. We will work hard to add your case to this list of victories.
Call GED Lawyers Today for a Free Consultation About Your Accident
We want to hear from you whether or not you beat the 14-day reporting window. We work to overcome any challenges to justice and will do the same for you. Our team will identify your losses and then fight for your financial recovery.
Call GED Lawyers today about your accident in Florida. Don’t wait, as we’ll want to file your claim or lawsuit before any deadlines expire.
Call or text (561) 995-1966 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form