A Law Firm With A History Of Winning
Ged Lawyers, LLP Blog
Contact Us Today for a Free Case Review
In: Auto Accidents, Personal Injury

Florida Highest in Hit and Run Crashes

In the United States, more than one hit and run crash happens every minute, according to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety. Florida is among the top three states with the highest per capita rates of fatal hit and run crashes, with nearly 25 percent of all traffic crashes involving a hit and run. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), there were more than 90,000 hit and run crashes in Florida in 2018. The accident attorneys at Ged Lawyers, LLP hold hit and run drivers accountable, successfully recovering just compensation for their clients.

Florida law requires that drivers stop at the scene of a crash

Florida law requires that when a crash on public or private property results in injury or death, drivers must immediately stop. When a driver leaves the scene of an accident in Florida, it is considered a felony. If convicted, the driver faces penalties, which may include prison time and fines.

Penalties for a hit and run in Florida

The Aaron Cohen Life Protection Act was signed into Florida law in July of 2014, imposing a mandatory minimum prison time of four years for a driver convicted of leaving the scene of an accident that resulted in a fatality. In Florida, the penalty for a hit and run accident depends upon the damage that the accident caused. Specifically, if a driver leaves the scene of the accident with:

  • Property damage — it is considered a second-degree misdemeanor. The penalty is prison time of up to 60 days, and a $500 fine.
  • Injuries – it is considered a second- or third-degree felony. The penalty is revocation of the drivers’ license for a period of at least three years, prison time of up to five years, and a $5,000 fine.
  • Fatalities – it is considered a first-degree felony. The penalty is revocation of the drivers’ license for a period of at least three years, mandatory prison time of a minimum of four years up to 30 years, and a $10,000 fine.

Injured in a hit and run accident? Let us help

If you or a loved one has suffered injury or a fatality in a hit and run accident, let us help. At Ged Lawyers, LLP, our accident attorneys believe that hit and run drivers must be held accountable for the damage they inflicted. Our team is skilled, experienced, and dedicated to fighting on behalf of our clients for the compensation they deserve. We are available to answer your questions, discuss your concerns, and advise you of your legal options. To arrange a free case review to discuss your hit and run accident, contact our office at 844-443-3529 or online. The attorneys at Ged Lawyers, LLP, represent a diverse clientele, with multilingual services available in Arabic, Creole, Greek, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and other languages.