Boca Raton Drunk Driving Injury Lawyers
Experienced law firm protects the rights of victims that were hit by a drunk or drugged driver
Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) caused 5,840 car accidents in the state of Florida in 2016, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident involving alcohol or drugs, the skilled Boca Raton accident attorneys at Ged Lawyers, LLP protect the rights of injured victims and successfully recover damages.
What is blood alcohol concentration (BAC)?
Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is an indicator of the percentage of alcohol that is present in the bloodstream. BAC is determined by administering blood tests or breathalyzer tests. In Florida, if an individual’s BAC is 0.08% or more while they are operating a motor vehicle or in physical control of a vehicle, that person may be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). It is important to note that in Florida, you can be charged with driving under the influence based on your blood alcohol level even if your driving ability was actually not impaired.
Florida underage drivers
In Florida, drivers under the age of 21 years old can be charged with DUI if their BAC is 0.02% or more. First offenders will have their drivers’ license suspended for a period of six months. Second offenders face a one-year license suspension. If an underage driver is found with a BAC of 0.05% or greater, they must complete substance abuse programs as a prerequisite for having their drivers’ license returned.
Penalties for DUI convictions in Florida
If you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Florida, the penalties vary depending upon whether it is your first, second, or third offense. Specifically:
- First offense: revocation of drivers’ license for 6 months; mandatory participation in an alcohol education program
- Second offense: revocation of drivers’ license for one year; mandatory participation in an alcohol education program; minimum 10 days in jail; mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
- Third offense: revocation of drivers’ license for 2 years; mandatory participation in an alcohol education program; minimum 30 days in jail; mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
Florida’s implied consent laws
Florida has “implied consent” laws, which require that drivers who are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) submit to chemical testing, including blood tests, breathalyzer tests, or urine tests, to determine the amount of alcohol or drugs in their bloodstreams. And while the testing is required of all motorists, law enforcement officers cannot force you to comply. You will, however, face penalties for not submitting to chemical testing, which are as follows:
- First offense: one year suspension of drivers’ license
- Second offense: 18-month suspension of drivers’ license if license was previously suspended for refusal to submit to chemical testing
- Third offense: 18-month suspension of drivers’ license if license was previously suspended for refusal to submit to chemical testing
Injured in a DUI accident? Let us help
At Ged Lawyers, LLP, our experienced Boca Raton accident attorneys fight for injured victims, protecting their rights and recovering just compensation for their injuries. If you or a loved one has suffered injury in a car accident involving another driver under the influence of alcohol or drugs, let us help. Contact our office at 844-443-3529 or contact us online to arrange a free case review to discuss your case.