Aggressive drunk driving accident attorneys recover compensation for injured victims and families
If you have been injured in a car accident caused by a driver who was under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs, you may be thinking you have grounds for a lawsuit, and you are right. However, in the state of Florida, there are a few other measures you must take before heading to the local courthouse. Trusted accident attorneys at Ged Lawyers, LLP understand the complexities of Florida’s statutes and successfully recover compensation for your injuries.
For a free legal consultation with a Personal Injury lawyer serving Florida and Massachusetts, call (561) 995-1966
Florida’s ‘no-fault’ car insurance laws
Florida’s ‘no-fault’ car insurance laws require that drivers first turn to their own personal injury protection (PIP) coverage to receive compensation for medical expenses and other damages stemming from a car accident. These rules apply regardless of who is at fault for the accident, and whether or not the driver was driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs. However, if your injuries meet Florida’s definition of ‘serious injuries’, you can step outside the no-fault car insurance laws and file a lawsuit against the drunk driver.
Personal Injury Lawyer Near Me (561) 995-1966
You may file a lawsuit if you sustained ‘serious injuries’
Florida requires that drivers carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. PIP coverage pays up to $10,000 for injuries that are the result of a car accident. If your injuries are considered serious ‘ or if you have suffered losses of more than $10,000 ‘ you may file a liability claim or a lawsuit against the drunk driver. Under Florida statutes, the categories for ‘serious injuries’ are as follows:
- Significant and permanent loss of an important bodily function
- Permanent injury within a reasonable degree of medical probability
- Significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Timeframe for filing a personal injury claim in Florida
The statute of limitations ‘ the legal time limit ‘ for filing a personal injury claim in the state of Florida is two years from the date of the accident or injury. Take note of this very important timeframe. The clock starts ticking on this two-year deadline from the date that the drunk driving accident occurred. And when this deadline runs out, your options for recovering any kind of compensation for your injuries have run out as well. The Florida court will not hear your case after this date, nor will you be able to recover any compensation for the injuries you suffered from the accident.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
We fight for those who have been injured in a DUI accident
At Ged Lawyers, LLP, we are on your side. We understand the challenges you face when you have been injured in a car accident with someone who was driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs. Our dedicated team of experienced personal injury attorneys fights for the compensation you deserve for your injuries. To arrange a free case review with a member of our team to discuss your personal injury case, contact our office at 844-443-3529 or online.
Call or text (561) 995-1966 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form