Why It’s Important to Have Uninsured Motorist Insurance in Florida
The Sunshine State has the highest percentage of uninsured motorists in a state, according to the Insurance Research Council. More than a quarter of Florida residents – 26.7% — are driving without car insurance, even though it is a state requirement. For this reason, it is important to have uninsured motorist insurance if you live in Florida in the event you are involved in a car accident. The skilled attorneys at Florida’s Ged Lawyers, LLP, have an in-depth understanding of Florida’s car insurance laws and are dedicated to protecting the rights of their clients.
Uninsured motorist insurance provides protection
Uninsured motorist insurance coverage protects drivers when they have an accident with another driver who does not have car insurance. Drivers purchase uninsured motorist insurance on their own automobile insurance policy. This insurance provides coverage for injuries that are sustained in accidents when the at-fault driver does not have insurance. Uninsured motorist coverage protects the policyholder and any relatives residing with them, in addition to any passengers that are in the vehicle when the accident occurred. Florida motorists are required to have a minimum of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability. If a car accident results in serious injuries, the $10,000 no-fault PIP insurance may not be enough to cover medical expenses and other losses; in this scenario, the uninsured motorist coverage provide protection.
What does uninsured motorist insurance cover?
Uninsured motorist insurance provides coverage for the following:
- Medical expenses
- Mental pain and suffering
- Lost wages
- Long term nursing care
- Replacement services for things that the injured can no longer do
In purchasing uninsured motorist insurance, the policyholder can select a limit for coverage, but may not choose a limit that is higher than the bodily injury liability limit that was selected. Uninsured motorist insurance does not provide coverage for any damage sustained to the vehicle.
Florida’s statute of limitations
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims – the legal time limits for filing a claim in the civil courts – is four years from the date of the accident. Claims that are filed after the four-year deadline has passed will not be heard by the courts and the opportunity to recover any compensation for damages will be lost.
Florida’s car insurance laws are confusing. Let us help
Florida’s car insurance laws are confusing, and the claims process itself can be complicated. Let us help. The skilled accident attorneys at Ged Lawyers, LLP, are experienced and knowledgeable of all facets of Florida’s car insurance laws. We successfully advocate on behalf of our clients to recover just compensation for the injuries they sustained in car accidents. To schedule a confidential consultation to discuss your case, contact our team at 844-443-3529 or online. Attorneys at Ged Lawyers, LLP represent a diverse clientele, with multilingual services available in Arabic, Creole, Greek, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and other languages.