Uber, Lyft, and Other Rideshare Accidents
Florida personal injury firm skillfully represents accident victims
Using rideshare services such as Uber and Lyft has become commonplace for adults of all ages, from college students to retirees. It is a convenient way to get around, whether you do not have a license or a car, or you just want to avoid the hassle of finding a place to park. Unfortunately, just as climbing into any car is not without risk, neither is riding in Uber, Lyft, or another rideshare service. Filing a personal injury claim for an accident involving a rideshare service can be complicated; the experienced personal injury team at Ged Lawyers, LLP skillfully represents accident victims, successfully recovering just compensation for their injuries.
Florida insurance requirements for rideshare companies
In July of 2017, Florida legislators enacted a law that imposes new insurance requirements for rideshare companies. At a minimum, rideshare drivers must obtain $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage and $10,000 of property damage liability coverage to meet Florida’s auto insurance requirements.
Rideshare accident victims can find relief under personal injury law
Personal injury law protects those who have been injured in accidents that are the result of another person or entity’s negligence. Individuals who have been injured in accidents involving rideshare services such as Uber or Lyft may find the personal injury claims process particularly complicated due to the fact that many rideshare drivers are independent contractors. As such, the accident may not be covered under the rideshare company’s insurance policy. Sometimes rideshare drivers are involved in accidents while they are in between fares or when they are not providing fares at that time.
What are the time limits for filing a personal injury claim in Florida?
The statute of limitations – the legal timeframe allowed for filing a lawsuit in the civil court – varies from state to state. In Florida, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is four years from the time the accident occurred. This deadline is firm; if you fail to file your personal injury claim within four years, unless there are extenuating circumstances, the court will refuse to hear your case at any time. So, if you are contemplating filing a personal injury claim, it is best to consult with an experienced personal injury attorney as soon as possible within this timeframe.
Injured in an Uber or Lyft accident? We can help
If you have been injured in an accident involving Uber, Lyft, or another rideshare service, embarking on the personal injury claims process can be daunting. We can help. At Ged Lawyers, LLP, our experienced accident attorneys understand the complexities of the law, and skillfully navigate the claims process to recover just compensation for our clients who have been injured in rideshare accidents. Arrange for a confidential consultation with a member of our team to discuss your case and the available legal options; contact our office at 844-443-3529 or online. Ged Lawyers, LLP represent a diverse clientele, with multilingual services available in Arabic, Creole, Greek, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and other languages.