Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage is required in Florida, but many drivers are unsure of how it works.
In Florida, personal injury protection (PIP) is required for all motorists on the road. With this insurance, motorists can receive $10,000 from their own insurance company after an accident, even if they were at fault for the crash. Florida is just one of 10 states that uses no-fault insurance, and this coverage provides the immediate relief Floridians need after an accident.
For a free legal consultation, call (561) 995-1966
Who Does PIP Cover?
Of course, PIP covers the driver of the vehicle and any passengers they are carrying at the time of an accident. However, there are times when other people are covered by this type of insurance, as well. For example, children of the driver are covered if they are in the vehicle, but PIP may also provide coverage if a child becomes injured on a school bus during a crash.
Individuals such as bicyclists or pedestrians can also receive PIP coverage if they are involved in a crash with a vehicle. When these individuals do not have their own PIP coverage, they can file a claim with the negligent driver’s insurance company to receive the compensation they need to recover from their injuries.
What Does PIP Cover?
PIP coverage will pay for an accident victim’s medical costs and lost wages after a crash. To claim this coverage, though, injured individuals must receive medical treatment within 14 days of the accident. Being treated on the scene is considered receiving medical treatment, but PIP does not cover massage therapy or acupuncture. Treatment received from a primary care provider, urgent care clinic, chiropractors, and emergency medical technicians are all covered by PIP. The following expenses are covered by PIP:
- Medical costs
- Hospital costs
- Surgical costs
- Rehabilitation expenses
- Ambulance services
- 60% of lost wages
- Death benefits in the amount of $5,000 for funeral and burial expenses given to survivors of the policyholder
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
What to Do When PIP is Exhausted
In Florida, the minimum amount of PIP drivers must carry is $10,000 in coverage. However, it is advisable that all drivers carry more than this minimum amount, as it is not generally enough to fully cover the cost of serious injuries that can result after a crash. Although premiums are slightly higher for drivers who carry more than the minimum amount, the additional coverage can provide great relief after a serious crash.
Any time the cost of a motorist’s injuries exceed the minimum amount of insurance available, they can file a claim against the negligent driver to receive the remaining compensation they need.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Our Florida Car Accident Lawyers Can Assist With Your Claim
Whether you are filing a claim with your own insurance company, or need to file one against the negligent driver, our Boca Raton car accident lawyers can help with your claim. At Ged Lawyers, LLP, Attorneys at Law, we know how to hold careless drivers responsible for their actions, and how to hold insurance companies accountable for paying the compensation you need. Call us today at (844) 443-3529 or contact us online to schedule a free case review.
Call or text (561) 995-1966 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form