What Is PIP Insurance Coverage In Florida?
Experienced PIP attorneys recover millions of dollars in PIP benefits for clients
Florida’s laws regarding Personal Injury Protection (PIP) are confusing and filing an insurance claim is fraught with challenges. The skilled Florida PIP insurance attorneys at Ged Lawyers, LLP specialize in handling PIP claims in Florida and have a track record of successfully recovering millions of dollars in PIP benefits for their clients.
What is PIP?
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance provides coverage of medical expenses and – in some situations – loss of income and other damages if you have been injured in a car accident. Typically, PIP insurance policies cover the driver, passengers, and any pedestrians involved in the car accident. In Florida, every driver is required by law to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage of $10,000.
Florida’s no fault car insurance laws
Florida follows a “no fault” car insurance policy and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provides protection regardless of who is legally responsible for the accident. When sustaining injury in a car accident, the injured party must first file a claim with their own insurance company to receive compensation for any non-serious injuries that they sustained. Then the next step is for the injured victim to pursue a property damage claim with the other driver’s insurance company. If the injuries sustained in the accident are severe and permanent, then the injured party must file a claim against the other driver.
Florida’s “pure comparative negligence”
Florida is a “pure comparative negligence” state. If you are injured in a car accident and your case goes to trial, the judge or jury will determine each driver’s level of fault for the accident. Then the damage awards are reduced by that percentage. So, if you sustained $10,000 in damages after a car accident but it was determined that you were 30% at fault for the accident, your recovery will be limited to 70% of the damages — $7,000.
Statute of limitations
Every state has legal time limits for filing a claim in court, known as the statute of limitations. In Florida, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is four years from the date of the accident. Missing this deadline means that the court will not hear your case, nor will you recover any compensation for your injuries.
Recover the insurance benefits that are rightfully yours
At Ged Lawyers, LLP, our skilled Personal Injury Protection attorneys fight for the insurance benefits that are rightfully yours. We specialize in handling PIP claims, and have in-depth knowledge of Florida PIP laws, staying current on any changes in Florida’s insurance laws. If you have suffered injury in a car accident, let us help you get the compensation you deserve. Schedule an appointment with a member of our team by contacting our office at 844-443-3529 or online.