All Floridian drivers must purchase personal injury protection (PIP) coverage in order to register their vehicles in the event that they get into an accident. This type of automobile insurance coverage allows drivers to recover the costs of medical expenses if they were injured in the accident. Drivers may also purchase property damage liability (PDL) coverage to cover the costs of repairs on their vehicle if damage occurred.
If you are a medical provider who has accepted an assignment of a patient’s PIP benefits and those benefits have been denied, we can help. A Sarasota personal injury protection (PIP) lawyer from GED Lawyers can review and prepare your claim, then serve as your representative in your pursuit of compensation. We offer the first consultation for free to discuss your case and available options.
Our Legal Team Can Review Your Personal Injury Protection Policy
Our attorneys at GED Lawyers handle PIP claims and related car accident cases in Florida. We can review your patient’s PIP policy to determine how much compensation they may qualify to pursue after an accident, then discuss whether an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit may be suitable for the case.
Our case results include multimillion-dollar settlements and verdicts, with one of our highest case rewards being a $7.13 verdict for a commercial trucking accident.
Florida Sets Minimum Requirements for PIP Policies
According to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), Florida sets the following minimum coverage requirements for PIP and PDL policies:
- $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) coverage
- $10,000 for property damage liability (PDL) coverage
- $125,000 for bodily injury liability (BIL) per person and $250,000 per accident if your vehicle is a registered taxi, as well as $50,000 in PDL coverage
Your patient may have purchased additional coverage plans. Depending on how severe the accident is, their damages may exceed their policy limits, in which case our Sarasota personal injury protection (PIP) lawyers can help fight against the insurance company to negotiate fair coverage.
You can read more about PIP benefits requirements in Florida in the Florida Statutes § 627.736.
What Happens if the Other Driver Is Uninsured or Underinsured?
Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that your automobile insurance must cover your accident regardless of who was at fault. Whether the other driver is uninsured or underinsured is irrelevant to your case, as you would have to file a claim with your own insurer anyway.
That being said, if your patient’s coverage policy is limited, they may have grounds to file a lawsuit against the uninsured/underinsured driver to pursue compensation for their damages. Through legal action, they would be holding the at-fault driver accountable instead of their insurer.
You May Qualify to Receive Compensation for Damages After an Accident
In personal injury cases, plaintiffs may recover the following types of damages:
- Medical expenses, such as costs for emergency room care, hospitalization, surgeries, and even prescription medicines
- Future medical treatment costs if your injuries require long-term treatment or are expected to be permanent
- Loss of income, both past and future
- Pain and suffering and inconvenience
- Emotional distress and/or psychological trauma
- Permanent disability and/or physical disfigurement
- Reduced earning potential if your injuries limit your working abilities or force you to leave your career industry
- Wrongful death damages, such as funeral expenses or loss of consortium, if someone you love passed away in the accident
This is not a complete list of compensatory damages.
How Our Legal Team Can Help You File Your Claim or Lawsuit
Once you become a client at GED Lawyers, we get to work on your case. We make sure to provide case updates as we see them, whether we’re letting you know when the insurance company received your patient’s claim to a court hearing date we scheduled with the insurer. You can also reach out to our team for legal counsel whenever you have questions.
In the meantime, some services we may provide to build your PIP claim can include:
- Reviewing the accident report to confirm whether details match with your patient’s claim statements
- Collecting evidence to support their statements about injuries, how the accident occurred, and who was involved in the accident
- Filing paperwork to the insurance company, courthouse, and any other relevant party in your case
- Calculating the value of their damages to determine whether their value exceeds your coverage policy or falls within the limits
- Organizing meetings with the insurance company to negotiate a potential settlement deal based on your policy and/or injuries
- Preparing a case for trial if necessary
You Must Abide by Florida’s Legal Deadline if You Decide to File a Lawsuit
Per the Florida Statutes § 95.11, if you wish to pursue compensation from a liable party, you must file a personal injury lawsuit within four years of the car accident date. Our attorneys can retrieve this date from the official crash report to give us a framework for how long we have to build and negotiate your case.
In many cases, we file lawsuits well in advance to avoid missing statutory deadlines, then discuss our clients’ cases with the insurance companies outside of court. Still, if your case does go to trial, we are prepared to present comprehensive evidence and advocate for your right to financial recovery.
Call GED Lawyers to Discuss Your Case and Hire an Attorney from Our Team
If you are a medical provider who has received a denial of PIP benefits for your assigned patients, we can help.
A Sarasota personal injury protection (PIP) lawyer from GED Lawyers can prepare your claim for you and help you pursue financial recovery. Call now to receive a free consultation with one of our team members. We can explain the claims process to you, including whether you have other legal options, then start your case right away.